Priory tackle champions-elect

Elliot Hooper bowls for Hastings Priory during their Sussex T20 Cup win over Preston Nomads. Picture by Simon Newstead
Elliot Hooper bowls for Hastings Priory during their Sussex T20 Cup win over Preston Nomads. Picture by Simon Newstead

Hastings Priory’s splendid form will be put to the test against the Sussex Premier League champions-elect today (Saturday).

A Priory side which has won its last five completed league matches will travel to a Preston Nomads team which is 67 points clear at the top of the table with three games remaining.

Third-placed Priory were thumped by eight wickets in June’s reverse fixture at Horntye Park after being bowled out for just 79, but won the Gray-Nicolls Sussex T20 Cup quarter-final between the two clubs at the same venue last month.

Elsewhere, it’s another big day in Bexhill’s quest for promotion from Division Two. Third-placed Bexhill will host sixth-placed neighbours Crowhurst Park, while second-placed Goring-by-Sea and leaders Eastbourne face each other.

Bexhill are 22 points behind Goring and 43 adrift of Eastbourne with two to go up at the end of the season. Park recovered from 33-9 to win a memorable reverse fixture by seven runs after bowling out Bexhill for 85.


Sussex Cricket League, 1st XI Premier League (12): Preston Nomads v Hastings Priory.

1st XI Division 2 (12.30): Bexhill v Crowhurst Park.

2nd XI Division 1 (12.30): Hastings Priory v Preston Nomads; Haywards Heath v Bexhill.

2nd XI Division 3 (East) (12.30): Crowhurst Park v Lindfield.

East Sussex Cricket League (1.30), Division 1: Iden v Ditchling; Rye v Buxted Park.

Division 2: Mayfield v Battle; Robertsbridge v Fletching.

Division 4: Herstmonceux v Polegate & Stone Cross; Seaford II v Little Common Ramblers.

Division 5: Pett v Lewes St Michaels II; Rotherfield v Bexhill III.

Division 6: Hastings Priory III v St Peters II; Waldron v Iden II.

Division 7: Battle II v Chiddingly II; Nutley v Robertsbridge II; Udimore v Selmeston & Alciston.

Division 8: Bexhill IV v Crowborough II; Glynde & Beddingham III v Burwash Weald; Little Common Ramblers II v Seaford III; St Peters III v Herstmonceux II.

Division 10: Laughton II v Crowhurst Park III; Uckfield Anderida II v Pett II.

Division 11: Bexhill V v Glynde & Beddingham IV; Newick III v Robertsbridge III; Sidley v Mayfield III.

Division 12: Hailsham III v Little Common Ramblers III.

Division 13: Bells Yew Green IV v Rye IV; Denton II v Crowhurst Park IV.