Park well beaten in national final

Egerton Park bowler Marion Boswell
Egerton Park bowler Marion Boswell

Egerton Park Ladies suffered a heavy loss in the final of a national bowls competition yesterday (Sunday).

The Bexhill-based club was beaten 96-60 by a Riverain IBC side who have swept all before them in this year’s Yetton Plate.

Di Stone, Patricia Newman, Lyndsey Jamison and Lorraine Kemp brought about Egerton’s only rink win on the day, battling to a solid 22-13 victory.

Jean Noble, Ann Pole, Doreen Hough and Jan Pilcher suffered a 14-30 defeat, while Sheila Brown, Doreen Gibbs, Marion Boswell and Marjorie Hendle crashed to a 13-24 loss.

In the fourth rink, Margaret Adcock, Gwenn Mann, Doris Wickenden and Mandy Carrie lost 11-29. Riverain, from Hitchin, become the 10th winners of the tournament.

See Friday’s Bexhill Observer for the full article and reaction.