Joonas testimonial a serious test for riders

Joonas Kylmakorpi
Joonas Kylmakorpi

Four-times world long track champion Joonas Kylmakorpi holds his testimonial meeting at Eastbourne Speedway on Saturday, March 22.

The Finn is back with the Lifestyle Eagles for the 2014 and this will be his fourth stint at the Arlington track since his UK career began in 2001.

His meeting opens the new speedway season at Eastbourne which continues the following Saturday (March 29) with an Elite League meeting against Birmingham.

Kylmakorpi first came to ride for Eastbourne in 2001 and has ridden for the club in 2004-05 and 2010-12.

In between he has ridden for Lakeside (2003, 2006-09), Peterborough (2005, 2013) and Coventry (2002).

As well as being a top speedway rider, Kylmakorpi has excelled in the world long track competition taking the title in 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013.

His testimonial meeting will be over 20 heats with a grand final.

The field comprises the Adam Skornicki, Lewis Bridger, David Watt, Chris Harris, Timo Lahti, Fredrik Lindgren, Cameron Woodward, Bjarne Pedersen, Simon Gustafsson, Peter Karlsson, Hans Andersen, Ty Proctor, Mikkel Michelsen, Troy Batchelor, Antonio Lindback and, of course, Joonas.

He has put together a fascinating mix of riders.

The Arlington flavour is provided by the current Eagles, plus former Eagles in Bridger, Watt and Gustafsson.

On top of that are some track specialists, especially Karlsson from Lakeside, Harris from Coventry, former Poole star Lindback and former Wolves rider Lindgren.

Adding a controversial note – at least for some in the home crowd - will be GP newcomer Troy Batchelor.

Spectacular Skornicki, fast-starting Andersen along with Ty Proctor, who is returning from injury, complete the line-up.

Meeting reserves are Lewis Blackbird and Danny Halsey.

Main sponsors are Frida and Richard Turner of V8 Engines.

Joonas has passed on his thanks to all who have helped and supported him in getting his testimonial meeting arranged.

Eastbourne Elite League passes are not valid for this meeting. Gates open at 6pm.