Hooper in line to face Horsham

Imran Javed bowls for Hastings Priory against Brighton & Hove last weekend. Picture by Steve Hunnisett (SUS-141005-175311002)
Imran Javed bowls for Hastings Priory against Brighton & Hove last weekend. Picture by Steve Hunnisett (SUS-141005-175311002)

Talented teenager Elliot Hooper is set to make his first Hastings Priory appearance of the season.

Last season’s Sussex Cricket League young player of the year is expected to feature in Priory’s trip to Horsham today (Saturday).

Priory first team coach Ian Gillespie said: “Hopefully we’ll be strengthened by Elliot Hooper coming into the team. He’s not got any school commitments and he’s going really well at the county at the moment. That will add to the strength of our bowling.

“We’ll take a decent side up there for early season and see how we go. Horsham were very powerful in their defeat of Bexhill on Saturday and they’re going to be a handful. They’re always up there so it’s going to be a tough challenge for us.”


Sussex Cricket League, 1st XI Premier Division (12.30): Horsham v Hastings Priory; Preston Nomads v Bexhill.

1st XI Division 2 (1): Crowhurst Park v Middleton.

1st XI Division 4 (1): Rye v Keymer & Hassocks.

2nd XI Division 1 (1): Bexhill v Preston Nomads; Hastings Priory v Horsham.

2nd XI Division 3 (East) (1): Glynde & Beddingham v Crowhurst Park; Keymer & Hassocks v Rye.

East Sussex League (1.30), Division 1: Iden v Seaford.

Division 2: Battle v Fletching; Robertsbridge v Laughton.

Division 3: Little Common Ramblers v Pevensey.

Division 4: DPB v Bexhill III.

Division 5: Pett v Ringmer II.

Division 6: Blackboys v Hastings Priory III; Stanmer v Udimore; Willingdon II v Iden II.

Division 7: Burwash Weald v Alfriston; Hellingly III v Robertsbridge II; Linden Park IV v Battle II.

Division 8: Bexhill IV v Chiddingly II; Herstmonceux II v Little Common Ramblers II.

Division 9: Bexhill V v Forest Row II; Mayfield III v Sidley; Newick III v Pett II.

Division 10: Crowhurst Park III v Mayfield IV; Maresfield II v Rye III.

Division 11: Little Common Ramblers III v Crowhurst Park IV; Newhaven III v Robertsbridge III.

Division 12: Rye IV v Hellingly IV; Westfield v St Peters IV.