Rampant Bexhill hit nine

Steve Morris scored three of Bexhill United's nine goals
Steve Morris scored three of Bexhill United's nine goals

Bexhill United crushed Saltdean United 9-3 in a one-sided encounter at The Polegrove on Saturday.

Casey Ham set the ball rolling in the first six minutes and although bottom-of-the-table Saltdean levelled, Josh Elliott-Noye put Bexhill back in front and the visitors then lost their goalkeeper injured.

Ham made it 3-1 and Steve Morris added a fourth in the first 26 minutes. Saltdean got one back before half time in this Sussex County Football League Division Two fixture.

Morris extended Bexhill’s advantage to 5-2 shortly before Leighton Freeman completed his hat-trick for Saltdean with a penalty. Morris then completed his own treble to make it 6-3.

Central defender Elliott-Noye netted his fourth of the season, Nathan Tudor weighed in with number eight and Ashley Kidman rounded-off the scoring against a Saltdean side which played the last half-an-hour with 10 men.

Elsewhere, a depleted Westfield side did well to take higher grade Dorking Wanderers to extra-time before going down 2-1 in round two of the Sussex RUR Charity Cup.

Westfield took a half time lead through Gordon Cuddington, but Dorking levelled in the second half via a controversial penalty converted by Glenn Boosey and Jamal Okoi won it for them in the first period of extra-time.

Talking of controversial penalties, Little Common conceded three of them to lose 4-1 away to higher grade Redhill in round two of the John O’Hara League Challenge Cup.

After falling behind to the first spot-kick, Common reached half time level thanks to a penalty of their own by Chris Cumming-Bart. Redhill scored three unanswered goals in the second half and Jamie Crone was harshly sent-off late on.

See Friday’s Observers for full reports on each of these matches.

Sussex County League Division Two standings (played-points): 1 Newhaven 10-23, 2 Littlehampton Town 8-20, 3 LITTLE COMMON 10-20, 4 Broadbridge Heath 9-19, 5 BEXHILL UNITED 9-19, 6 Eastbourne United AFC 9-17, 7 WESTFIELD 10-16, 8 Midhurst & Easebourne 10-15, 9 Mile Oak 11-15, 10 Seaford Town 10-14, 11 Southwick 11-13, 12 Wick 10-13, 13 Loxwood 11-13, 14 Steyning Town 10-8, 15 Storrington 12-8, 16 Oakwood 7-4, 17 Rustington 10-4, 18 Saltdean United 11-1.