In-form Common hit six again

Action from Little Common's 6-1 win over Seaford Town on Saturday. Picture by Steve Hunnisett (eh50012d)
Action from Little Common's 6-1 win over Seaford Town on Saturday. Picture by Steve Hunnisett (eh50012d)

Little Common plundered six goals for the second time in three league games on Saturday.

The Commoners hammered 10-man Seaford Town 6-1 at The Recreation Ground to make it three consecutive Sussex County Football League Division Two victories.

After Zack McEniry headed off Common’s goal-line, Allan McMinigal gave Common a ninth minute lead following a delightful exchange with Lewis Hole. Common doubled their advantage in the 23rd minute when Russell Eldridge’s free kick was headed down by Steve Morris for Hole to stab home.

Morris hit the post before Beckham Pout pulled one back for Seaford from close range. The visitors had Anthony Doherty sent-off for dissent before half time and Common went 3-1 up four minutes into the second half when Martin Denny’s long range effort was spilled into the net.

Morris rifled home number four in the 53rd minute and Eldridge made it five in the 67th minute with a 25-yard free kick into the top corner. Lee Carey completed the scoring with a free kick of his own in the 79th minute for his first Common goal.

Elsewhere, Westfield made it three wins in four Division Two games with a 4-1 success at home to second-bottom Midhurst & Easebourne. Goals from Mike Booth and Dominic Clarke (2) put Westfield three-up inside half-an-hour, and Matt Dadswell added a late fourth goal.

Also in Division Two, Bexhill United put a stop to back-to-back defeats with a 1-1 draw away to Oakwood. The hosts took a 12th minute lead, but Bexhill earned a share of the spoils through a Jacob Shelton goal on 56 minutes.

See Friday’s Observers for full reports.

Standings (played-points): 1 Haywards Heath Town 17-37, 2 Eastbourne United AFC 14-35, 3 Loxwood 16-35, 4 LITTLE COMMON 17-32, 5 Broadbridge Heath 15-31, 6 Steyning Town 15-26, 7 BEXHILL UNITED 17-23, 8 AFC Uckfield 14-22, 9 Wick & Barnham United 16-22, 10 Mile Oak 15-22, 11 WESTFIELD 15-18, 12 Oakwood 15-14, 13 Storrington 16-14, 14 Seaford Town 15-13, 15 Rustington 16-11, 16 Midhurst & Easebourne 16-9, 17 Saltdean United 15-7.