Bexhill stun reigning champions

Malcolm Johnson
Malcolm Johnson

BEXHILL produced one of the results of the season in the Sussex Cricket League by getting the better of defending champions Hastings Priory.

Relegation-threatened Bexhill triumphed by seven wickets in the top flight local derby at The Polegrove.

Title hopefuls Priory won the toss and decided to take first knock. Bexhill made immediate inroads as Malcolm and Shawn Johnson reduced their opponents to 30-3 with the top three of Toby Finzel, Sussex professional Matt Machan and Harry Finch all back in the pavilion.

Captain George Campbell shared a 50 stand with Tom Harvey for the fourth wicket before joining forces with John Morgan (25) in putting on 60 for the seventh wicket.

Priory were eventually all out for 202 off 58 overs with Campbell undefeated on 98 off 147 balls.

The wickets were shared between Jamie Bristow-Diamond (4-45), Malcolm Johnson (2-36), Callum Guest (2-72) and Shawn Johnson (1-23).

In reply, Bexhill finished on 205-3 off 46.3 overs thanks to fine knocks by Malcolm Johnson (88 off 108 balls) and Andrew Harriott (68 not out off 100 balls).

This result leaves Bexhill 36 points clear of bottom-of-the-table Eastbourne who have a game in hand, and seven points adrift of third-from-bottom Brighton & Hove. Priory sit third - 19 points behind leaders Preston Nomads.

Sussex Premier League standings (played-points): Preston Nomads 12-242, Horsham 12-237, Hastings Priory 12-223, Roffey 13-218, Chichester Priory Park 13-202, East Grinstead 13-191, Worthing 13-182, Brighton & Hove 13-181, Bexhill 13-174, Eastbourne 12-138.

For a full match report see Friday’s Observer.