Bexhill celebrate tremendous season

Bexhill Cricket Club's 2013 season award winners. Picture courtesy Andy Hodder
Bexhill Cricket Club's 2013 season award winners. Picture courtesy Andy Hodder

Bexhill Cricket Club celebrated a highly successful season at its annual awards dinner on Saturday.

Around 80 members and guests attended the dinner, which was again held at Egerton Park Indoor Bowls Club. Club chairman Jeremy Wassell addressed the audience, while president Andy King made the awards.

The chairman’s speech congratulated the first, third and fifth teams on gaining promotion, the seconds on preserving their league status and winning the Gray-Nicolls Sussex 2nd XI T20 Cup at Hove, and the fourths for just missing out on promotion.

The club also won the Gordon Busbridge Shield - an area midweek T20 competition - and beat Norway in two T20 matches. The under-18s lost in the semi-finals of the the Sussex Cricket Board Cup and the under-16s reached the Sussex Cup final in their age group, which was played under floodlights at Hove.

Thanks were given to the many umpires and scorers, and flowers were presented to the tea ladies.

Award winners: Malcolm Pratt Trophy for players’ player of the year - Malcolm Johnson; Rex Salter Shield for clubman of the year - Bill Holloway; Ken Alcock Trophy for most improved player - Joe Cox; Bill Clements Trophy for spirit of cricket - Derrick Fuller; Ian Roughly Shield for junior clubman - Adam Smith; Stanley Courtney Shield for best performance in the Sussex Cricket Festival - Cameron Burgon; Reg Dawes Trophy for most league 6s in 2013 - Richard Matthews; 1st XI batsman - John Haffenden; 1st XI bowler - Andrew Williams; 2nd XI batsman - Jeremy Wassell; 2nd XI bowler - Neil Blatchly

3rd XI batsman - James Pilbeam; 3rd XI bowler - James Bywater; 4th XI batsman - Ben Phillimore; 4th XI bowler - Nathan Lopez; 5th XI batsman - Will Bayliss; 5th XI bowler - Callum Phillimore.