Putting students in spotlight for award ceremony

Winners are presented with the Ted Cole Award for Engineering Innovation
Winners are presented with the Ted Cole Award for Engineering Innovation

A PACKED Station Plaza rang with applause on Tuesday evening as students from Sussex Coast College Hastings (SCCH) celebrated their success at the 2011 Student Awards ceremony.

More than 50 students were nominated for a range of awards, across divisions as well as for specific achievements.

The ceremony was led by Luke Lancaster, who at the age of 16, is CEO of Young Pioneers, an organisation whose work encourages young people to focus on caring, for themselves, each other and the world.

Special guest for the evening was the popular football commentator Jonathan Pearce, who can be heard regularly on Match of the Day.

Janak Patel, principal, said: “Our students can be very proud of what they have achieved.

“They are a shining example to their peers and to the community, showing what can happen when you are determined to succeed.

“When they go out into the world of work and further study, they can be proud of saying they studied at SCCH.”

Alex Moore, pictured, was presented with the first of his two awards by Mayor of Hastings, Kim Forward.

He was praised by his head of learning, Alison Russell, who said his awards were a “Testimony to his abilities, his positive and engaging character and his total commitment to everything he worked on.”

The divisional winners were: Academy 6: Damien Robinson. Business and IT: Ian Harcourt-Smith.

Construction: Emily Wright. Engineering: Alex Dobson. Foundation Learning: Isatou Taal.

Hair and Beauty, Health and Hospitality: Sarah Pallet, the Arts: Pia-Jaie Carpenter, and Travel, Sport and Public Services: Thomas Mills

Other winners were: International Award: Johanna Bernatzky. Adult and Community Award: Paul Starr.

Part-Time Student Award: Ricky Wackett. Student with Learning Difficulties and Disabilities: Alex Moore

Ken Melsom Governors Award: Alex Moore. Principal’s Award: James Jackson. Ted Cole Award for Engineering Innovation: Robbie Hutchinson, Enrico Phillis, Edwin Potts and Charlotte Andrews.

MC Jonathan Pearce closed proceedings with a speech which urged students to push against barriers to achieve their dreams and believe they could turn them into reality.

He said, ‘The facilities and teaching staff that Hastings has in this fantastic college are a real asset to the town.’